Dr. Olaf Heinrich
Bezirkstagspräsident von Niederbayern

Dear short film friends,

The Landshut Short Film Festival is taking place for the 22nd time this year. This is a cultural highlight for the city of Landshut and all Lower Bavaria. The festival is known far beyond the borders of Bavaria and attracts thousands of guests from Germany and abroad every year. It is organized by the non-profit association Dynamo Kurzfilm e.V., which was awarded with the culture prize of the District of Lower Bavarian for its extraordinary commitment last year. The organizers around the artistic director Michael Orth and the managing director Birgit Horn prove every year what people can achieve together if they are enthusiastic about something. The preparations lasted almost a year, the closer the festival got, the more helpers pitched in to realize the more than 60 events.

The special thing about the Landshut Short Film Festival is undoubtedly the personal character. This popular series of events with around 250 films from 40 countries, which are shown at three locations, developed from a “weekend organized by friends”. Loyal regular guests come to Landshut, as do many directors, actors and the like, in order to exchange informal ideas on site. After the corona-related cancellation in 2020 and the purely online format in 2021, the festival will be held as a hybrid event this year. This has the advantage, especially for film fans, that they can watch the films at home for a week after the actual festival. This development also shows how innovative the club is and how they always try to break new ground.

Dear organizers, you present Landshut as an open, innovative city where you feel at home and where the whole world is welcome. Many thanks for this on behalf of the district of Lower Bavaria. I wish the viewers six entertaining, inspiring days, the filmmakers every success in the competitions and the event as a whole all the best.

Dr. Olaf Heinrich
Bezirkstagspräsident von Niederbayern

Liebe Freunde des Kurzfilms,

zum 22. Mal findet heuer das Landshuter Kurzfilmfestival statt. Für die Stadt Landshut und ganz Niederbayern ist dies ein kultureller Höhepunkt. Das Festival ist weit über die Grenzen Bayerns hinaus bekannt und zieht jährlich Tausende Gäste aus dem In- und Ausland an. Veranstaltet wird es vom gemeinnützigen Verein Dynamo Kurzfilm e.V., der für sein außergewöhnliches Engagement im vergangenen Jahr mit dem Kulturpreis des Bezirks Niederbayern ausgezeichnet wurde. Die Veranstalter um den künstlerischen Leiter Michael Orth und die organisatorische Leiterin Birgit Horn beweisen dabei jedes Jahr aufs Neue, was Menschen gemeinsam bewegen können, wenn sie von einer Sache begeistert sind. Fast ein ganzes Jahr dauern die Vorbereitungen, je näher das Festival rückt, desto mehr Helfer packen mit an, um die mehr als 60 Veranstaltungen zu realisieren.

Das Besondere am Landshuter Kurzfilmfestival aber ist zweifelsohne der persönliche Charakter. Von einem „Wochenende organisiert von Freunden“ entwickelte sich diese beliebte Veranstaltungsreihe mit rund 250 Filmen aus 40 Ländern, die an drei Spielorten gezeigt werden. Treue Stammgäste kommen genauso nach Landshut wie viele Regisseure, Schauspieler und Co., um sich gemeinsam vor Ort ungezwungen auszutauschen. Nach der coronabedingten Absage 2020 und dem reinen Online-Format in 2021 wird das Festival heuer als Hybridveranstaltung durchgeführt. Das birgt vor allem für die Filmfans den Vorteil, dass sie eine Woche über das eigentliche Festival hinaus die Filme zuhause ansehen können. Auch diese Entwicklung zeigt, wie innovativ der Verein ist und wie man stets versucht, neue Wege zu gehen.

Liebe Organisatoren, Sie präsentieren Landshut als offene, innovative Stadt, in der man sich zuhause fühlt und wo die ganze Welt willkommen ist. Herzlichen Dank dafür im Namen des Bezirks Niederbayern. Den Zuschauern wünsche ich sechs unterhaltsame, inspirierende Tage, den Filmemachern viel Erfolg bei den Wettbewerben und der Veranstaltung insgesamt einen guten Verlauf.